2012 Tokyo Sports Awards

The Tokyo Sports awards are some of the most prestigious awards for pro wrestling outside of the Observer Newsletter Awards. It is for that reason that they are always an interesting look at the views of the Japanese Pro Wrestling media’s view of the year. The following is the list of awards and runner up for this year. Credit goes to Martin Bentley and flik510 on the BOARD~! for the list.


2012 Tokyo Sports Awards


Most Valuable Player: Kazuchika Okada [NJPW]


Best Match: Kazuchika Okada vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi, DOMINION, June 16th in Osaka. [NJPW]


Best Tag Team: “GET WILD” Takao Omori & Manabu Soya [AJP]


Distinguished Service Medal: Takeshi Morishima [NOAH]


Fighting Spirit Award: Abdullah Kobayashi [BJW]


Technical Award: Shinsuke Nakamura [NJPW]


Top Newcomber: Daichi Hashimoto [ZERO1]


Joshi: Yuzuki Aikawa [Stardom]


Lifetime Achievement Award: Seiji Sakaguchi [NJPW]



MVP of the year runners….

~ Takeshi Morishima

~ Hiroshi Tanahashi


Okada won outright with 16 votes, compared to Mori’s 3 and Tana’s 2.


Also listed as the best matches of the year….

2nd: Onita vs. Akebono from 8.26 in Yokohama [Special Show]

3rd: Kota Ibushi vs. Kenny Omega from 8.18 in Budokan. [DDT]


~ Nakamura/Okada vs. Suwama/Kondo from 7.1 in Ryogoku. [ALL TOGETHER]

~ Tanahashi vs. MiSu from 10.8 in Ryogoku. [NJPW]

~ Tanahashi vs. Okada from 2.10 in Osaka. [NJPW]

~ Suwama vs. Kea from 5.7 in Korakuen. [AJP]


~ Akiyama vs. Funaki from 8.26 in Ota. [AJP]

~ Jun Kasai vs. MASADA from 8.27 in Korakuen. [Kasai Produce]

~ Masato Tanaka vs. Tomohiro Ishii from 11.19 in Shibuya [NEVER]

~ Takashi Sugiura vs. KENTA from 11.23 in Korakuen. [NOAH]

~ Kane vs. Daniel Bryan from 8.9 in Ryogoku. [WWE]

~ Atsushi Sawada & Shinichi Suzukawa vs. Kazushi Sakuraba & Katsuyori Shibata from 12.31 in Saitama [IGF]


Runners for Tag Teams…

~ Jimmy’s [DG]

~ Sakuraba & Shibata [Laughter7]

~ Brahman Brothers [Free]


Runners for Distinguished service…

~ Masakatsu Funaki

~ Abdullah Kobayashi


~ Sanshiro Takagi


Runners for Fighting Spirit….


~ Hirooki Goto

~ Katsuyori Shibata

~ Atsushi Onita


Runners for Technical Award…


~ Masakatsu Funaki

~ Toru Yano

~ Antonio Honda



We will have more on the Tokyo Sports Awards later on in the week. Check out Martin Bentley’s twitter account @themib.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.